A Few Favorite Quotes

I remember years ago in school absolutely hating my honors English class I had to take.  Looking back now, I realize what an idiot I was…I’m a writer, for goodness sakes.  Wouldn’t it be logical to soak up every second in writing-based classes?  Apparently, I didn’t understand back then, what I do now.  The symbolism in that class, could have taken my writing to the next level.  Now, sadly, I’m forced to learn through experience and time.

Which brings me to my point.  (Do you ever chat with a writer and wonder WHAT their original point was by the time they finish the conversation?)  I’m head over heels in love with symbolism these days.  Movies, other books, music, everyday conversation, etc.  You can read symbolism into anything; even if it’s not meant to be there.

Remember my question above?  The reason for this post, is simply a list of my all-time favorite quotes.  The reason I mention the symbolism is generally my “favorite” things or sayings, have underlying meanings that mean something to me. I like to think it’s the writer in me that has my thoughts so horribly scattered, and not that I might need medication!  Which brings me to my number one…

1)  Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia. (E. L. Doctorow – many fantastic quotes on writing can be found from Mr. Doctorow)

And the rest….

2)  There is no life I know to compare with pure imagination.  (Willy Wonka)

3)  You can’t live your life for other people. You’ve got to do what’s right for you, even if it hurts some people you love.  (Nicholas Sparks)

4)  There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.  (Ernest Hemingway)

5)  I decided as long as I’m going to hell, I might as well do it thoroughly.  (Stephanie Meyer)

6)  Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.  (Oscar Wilde)

7)  A wise girl kisses but doesn’t love, listens but doesn’t believe, and leaves before she is left.  (Marilyn Monroe)

8)  Everything you can imagine is real.  (Pablo Picasso)

9)  Fear can be a potent aphrodisiac.  (Kele Moon)

10)  Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody.  (Mark Twain)

And a personal favorite:  Scarlett has a candy cane exterior that hides the soul of a succubus.

I’m sure there’s hundreds more.  If I can just slow my brain down long enough to write them all down.  Perhaps after the meds kick in…

Leave a Reply

