Painful Scrutinizing

November is NaNoWriMo month and this year, I signed up in the hopes that it would help me stay on track with my current manuscript.  I didn’t necessarily expect to write 50,000 words this month, but to at least get myself more in the right mindset.  Roughly, I’ve written about 800 words, give or take, each day, over the last few days.  That alone, has me pretty pleased with myself.  But I keep coming face to face with my worst enemy.

Myself.

One of my biggest problems is over analyzing, which leads to rigorous over editing while I write.  Since I know this is an issue, I’m working hard this month to get beyond it.  I’ve decided if nothing else, during this “writing” month, if I can remind myself when I see it happening – that I don’t NEED to rewrite right now – I may just get my goal accomplished.  Oh, not 50,000 words this month, but rather well on my road to finishing this story.  True, it might not be November 30th that I type “The End” and I may not have the most beautifully polished story.  But I’ll be that much closer to having a completed story.  I’ll have the start of my “favorite” job – over analyzing.  Rewriting.  Editing the hell out of my first draft.

The important thing is that I’ll have the skeleton of the story completed.  If I keep this in the back of my mind, I think that will push me beyond the limits I keep placing on myself.

There are tons of articles, tips, “secrets” revealed on getting to that magical END point and sometimes I find myself trolling around the net for them.  But someone very special to me told me recently – writers write.  It’s what they do.  You can research, study and take classes, but a writer simply sits down and writes if that’s what they really want to do.

She’s exactly right.  Sometimes I still research, read an article or two, but it always comes back down to the blank piece of paper in front of me.  Another fact I need to remember when I start getting caught up in other “areas” of writing.

It’s been said, over and over to the point that sometimes I roll my eyes when I read it, but I love the adorable Little Nemo phrase “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming“.  I need to “Just keep writing, just keep writing“.

New Novel Word Count: 18,069

Leave a Reply

